Home   |   About Us   |   History of Melksham   |   Slide Shows   |   Past Events   |   Contact Us
Programme 2019
Click here for details

Thu 21st February 2019
A Step Back in Time Village Tour
An illustrated history of Castle Combe By Carly Batten
more details...

Thu 21st March 2019
The Air Transport Auxiliary – unsung heroes of WW2
A return visit by one of our favourite speakers, Bill King

Thu 18th April 2019
The Great and Not so Good
More stories from Arno’s Vale Cemetery Presented by Alan & Jane Bambury

Thu 16th May 2019
A Visit to Chippenham Museum
Chippenham’s story from prehistoric times to the present day, arranged by Claire Selman. (leave Church Street Car Park at 6.15 or meet outside the Museum at 7pm)

Thu 20th June 2019
A Walk Round Seend
Led by Anne Ewing. (leave Church St Car Park at 6.15 or meet at Seend Memorial Hall at 7pm)

Thu 18th July 2019
Outing to Gloucester
Further details to be announced. (Coach to leave King St Car Park at 9 15am)

Thu 19th September 2019
Illustrated Extracts
from the late Peter Brown’s Memories plus "Melksham’s Market Place 1219 – 2019”. Two presentations by the committee

Thu 17th October 2019
Ken Merrett Memorial Evening
“A history of Avoncliff” Presented by Nick MCamley

Thu 21st November 2019
AGM & Social Evening

 
Recent Events

Thu 17th January 2019
The Peter Brown Memorial Slide Presentation
Tony Fivash presents “Remembering the High Street”
more details...

Thu 18th October 2018
Talk on the “Wiltshire Bustard”
by the Great Bustard group
more details...

Thu 20th September 2018
A final tribute to the fallen of WW1
by Tony Fivash
more details...

View All Recent Events

The Wilts & Berks Canal - Thu 17th March 2016
From Melksham to Pewsham
Presented by Chris Coyle

MELKSHAM AND DISTRICT HISTORICAL ASSOCIATION PRESENTS

THE WILTS AND BERKS CANAL
FROM MELKSHAM TO PEWSHAM.


A slide presentation by Chris Coyle on the history and preservation of the canal through Melksham.

Thursday 17th March
7.30pm Melksham Assembly Hall
All welcome, guests £3




Gallows Bridge was over the canal, where it crossed what is now Pembrook Road. The tree was for many years on the green in Lambourne Crescent.

Back to Recent Events